About Miroslav

Monte Carlo Piano Masters International Сompetition


XIII Tchaikovsky Competition


International Heinrich Neuhaus Competition 2008


Miroslav Kultyshev was born in St. Petersburg in 1985. He graduated from the Special Music School of the St. Petersburg State Conservatory. Later he completed both graduate and postgraduate studies at the St. Petersburg State Conservatory itself, where has been on the faculty since 2012.

His concert career began when he was just six years old.  At the age of ten he made his debut at the Grand Hall of the St. Petersburg Philharmonic, performing Mozart’s Piano Concerto in D-minor under the direction of Maestro Yuri Temirkanov.

Miroslav Kultyshev is a prize-winner of numerous international competitions and the recipient of many special awards. These include the International Yuri Bashmet Foundation fellowship, “Hope of Russia” award, “Virtuosi of 2000” award, International foundation of Vladimir Spivakov fellowship, “New Names” fellowship, National Independent Prize “Triumph”, International Foundation of Heidens Competition, International Heinrich Neuhaus Competition, and the Monte Carlo Piano Masters International Competition. In 2007 Miroslav became the winner of XIII International Tchaikovsky Competition.

Miroslav Kultyshev has appeared at the leading concert venues in St. Petersburg and Moscow, as well as at internationally renowned concert venues such as the Musikverein in Vienna, the Mozarteum in Salzburg, the Concertgebow in Amsterdam, the Wigmore Hall in London, the Salle Gaveau in Paris, the Avery Fisher Hall in New York, the Suntory Hall in Tokyo.

He has toured in Russia, Germany, Austria, France, Italy, Great Britain, Netherlands, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Lithuania, Ukraine, Finland, Japan, South Korea, USA and collaborated with conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Yuri Bashmet, Vasily Sinaiski, Nikolai Alexeyev, Naoto Otomo, Alexander Dmitriev, Kazuyoshi Akiyama, Vassily Petrenko, Elim Chan, Eivind Gullberg Jensen, Ion Marin and Yuri Temirkanov.

One of Miroslav’s latest notable performances was performing Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto with the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Maestro Charles Dutoit.

Watch some of Miroslav’s performances

Additional information


  • XIII International Tchaikovsky Competition. Winner 
  • Monte Carlo Piano Masters international competition. Winner
  • XVI Chopin Piano Competition. Distinction
  •  International Heinrich Neuhaus Competition. Prizewinner
  •  Foundation of Heidens Competition. Prizewinner
  • International Foundation of Heidens. Prizewinner
  •  International Youth Delphic Games. Gold medal
  • «A Step to Mastery» Award
  • «Traditions and Modern Time» Grand-Prix
  • «Virtuosos of 2000» Award
  • «Hope of Russia» Grand-Prix
  • National Independent Prize «Triumph»
  • International Yuri Bashmet Foundation fellowship
  • International foundation of Vladimir Spivakov fellowship
  • “New Names” fellowship


F. Chopin – Complete

F. Liszt – Complete

P. Tchaikovsky  – Complete

R. Schumann  – Complete

M. Ravel  – Complete

A. Scriabin –  Sonata No. 2

A. Scriabin – Sonata No. 3

A. Scriabin – Sonata No. 4

A. Scriabin – Miniatures

S. Rachmaninov – Études-tableaux Op. 39

S. Rachmaninov – Variations on a Theme of Corelli

S. Rachmaninov – Miniatures

I. Stravinsky – Petrushka

J. Brahms – Rhapsodies, Op. 79

J. Brahms – Intermezzo Op, 118

D. Shostakovich – Sonata No. 2

D. Shostakovich – Preludes and Fugues

S. Prokofiev – Sonata No. 7


P. Tchaikovsky  – Piano concerto No. 1

P. Tchaikovsky  – Piano concerto No. 2

P. Tchaikovsky  – Concert Fantasia, Op.5

S. Rachmaninov – Piano concerto No. 2

S. Rachmaninov – Piano concerto No. 3

S. Prokofiev – Piano concerto No. 2

S. Prokofiev – Piano concerto No. 3

A. Scriabin  – Piano concerto, Op. 20

R. Schumann – Piano concerto

F. Chopin – Piano concerto No. 1

F. Chopin – Piano concerto No. 2

F. Liszt – Piano concerto No. 2

E. Greig – Piano concerto

J. Brahms – Piano concerto No. 1



Miroslav’s playlist

Photo/Video credit: 
© Copyright - VerhoGroup